Book Review: Trapped (The Iron Druid Chronicles, Book 5) by Kevin Hearne

Posted: December 28, 2012 by Booked & Loaded in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

trappedweb

Book Review:

Trapped by Kevin Hearne takes a leap from book 4.  12 years have past since Tricked and Atticus’ apprentice, Granuaile is ready to be bound to the earth and become a bonafide Druid.  Of course, this is Atticus we are talk about, so no plan ever goes according to his calculation.  Conspiracies and shenanigans are drawn to Atticus like a duck to a piece of bread.   Someone is always attacked and normally bitten.   Trapped was a great installment to this series and It kept me turning the pages.  Part of me felt a little disappointed between the relationship build up between Atticus and Granuaile.  Maybe because this books jumps such a huge amount of time and their bond grows during that gap.   Maybe it was the authors intention to keep this book strictly a no-romance zone.  Either way I wished I felt more of the bond between these two.  However, the lack of romance or relationship tension did not ultimately take away from the complete story.  They make a great team and I cannot wait to see what kind of trouble they get into next!

Blurb:

After twelve years of secret training, Atticus O’Sullivan is finally ready to bind his apprentice, Granuaile, to the earth and double the number of Druids in the world. But on the eve of the ritual, the world that thought he was dead abruptly discovers that he’s still alive, and they would much rather he return to the grave.

Having no other choice, Atticus, his trusted Irish wolfhound, Oberon, and Granuaile travel to the base of Mount Olympus, where the Roman god Bacchus is anxious to take his sworn revenge—but he’ll have to get in line behind an ancient vampire, a band of dark elves, and an old god of mischief, who all seem to have KILL THE DRUID at the top of their to-do lists.

I rate Trapped 4 out of 5 Bullets!

Amazon ∫ B&N

To learn more about the author, Kevin Hearne, you can visit:

Website ∫ Facebook ∫ Twitter

dreamstime_xs_19519192_zps902e7a8c*I received this ARC from the publisher, Random House, via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  I received no compensation for this review.

Comments
  1. H.A. Fowler says:

    I’m dying to get to this series! It’s on my challenge list for 2013, so here’s hoping!

  2. akamaireader says:

    I keep waffling between reading this series and not. There are so many books I want to read! Catching up with a five book series is daunting. Then I read a review like yours and I get all fired up to read them. :-)

  3. nrlymrtl says:

    I love this series. This book is on my read-sooner-rather-than-later list. I plan to listen to the novella Two Ravens & a Crow, which takes place in between Tricked and Trapped, before jumping into Trapped. Did you get a chance to read that novella?

Leave a Reply

