Julie Ann Walker Guest Post: Authors After Dark Spotlight with Giveaway

Posted: December 18, 2012 by Booked & Loaded in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

I am so excited to have Julie Ann Walker visiting Booked & Loaded as today’s Authors After Dark Spotlight!  She is here talking about Alpha Males, something we all know I LOVE to talk about!  Julie Ann Walker has also graciously agreed to giveaway SIGNED copies of her Black Knights Inc. series to one lucky winner!!  (I am a little jealous!)  This giveaway is open to US/CAN so don’t forget to enter below!

Photobucket

~Guest Post by Julie Ann Walker~

Hot Hunks, Cool Cycles, and Military Might

AKA: The Alpha Male Trifecta

What’s up, all you romance readers out there?  I’m Julie Ann Walker, author of the bestselling romantic suspense series, Black Knights Inc.  And I’m happy as a clam at high tide (I’ve been led to believe that’s really happy!) to be here on Booked And Loaded talking about alpha males.  Who are they?  What are they?  And, more importantly, where do I get my inspiration for writing them?

But before we get into that, let me give you a quick rundown of my books.  In a nutshell, the series follows the adventures of the men and women of Black Knights Inc. – a covert government defense firm operating under the guise of a custom motorcycle shop.  Or, in an even smaller nutshell, think Sons of Anarchy meets 007.  Hot bikes, handsome men, flying bullets, and secrets so explosive they damn near set the pages on fire!  Interested?  I thought so… *wink, wink*

Okay, so now that I’ve properly pimped my books – just in case my publisher or editor happens to be reading – let’s talk men, shall we?  More specifically, let’s talk ALPHA men.  You know the ones, those strong, loyal, fearless, and oh-so-sexy literary heroes that make us deliriously happy to have been born women.  We love them, don’t we?  And why not?  They’re delicious!

So, what makes an alpha male an alpha male?  Well, besides being strong, loyal, fearless, and oh-so-sexy, for me, he must embody an archetype or archetypes of guy-ness.  What are those archetypes?  They can be many things.  But for the men of Black Knights Inc., it’s two very specific things: the stoic, patriotic military man, and the leather-wearing, Harley-riding bad boy.

I mean, come on!  When you think sexy soldier, you think MALE!  And when you think badass biker, you think MALE!  And when you slam those two together and mix until frothy, what do you get?  Well, ladies, that’s when you get ALPHA MALE.  If you don’t believe me, see if you can determine the solution to this equation…

h

Plus SymbolhPlus Symbol

h

Equals Symbol

Question Mark

 
Did you answer ALPHA MALE?  Of course, you did!  And math doesn't lie!  LOL!
 Thank you Booked and Loaded for having me on today.  It's been a blast!

♦♦♦

REV IT UP, October 2012

He Never Misses a Target…

Jake “the Snake” Sommers earned his SEAL codename by striking quickly and quietly – and with lethal force.  That’s how he broke Michelle Carter’s heart.  It was the only way to keep her safe – from himself.  Four long years later, Jake is determined to get a second chance.  But to steal back into Michelle’s loving arms, Jake is going to have to prove he can take things slow.  Real slow…

 She Aims to Make Him Beg

Michelle Carter has never forgiven Jake for being so cliché as to “love her and leave her.”  But when her brother, head of the Black Knights elite ops agency, ticks off the wrong mobster, she must do the unimaginable: place her life in Jake’s hands.  No matter what they call him, this man is far from cold-blooded.  And once he’s wrapped around her heart, he’ll never let her go…

InRidesTrouble_CVR.indd

IN RIDES TROUBLE, September 2012

Rebel With A Cause…
Becky “Rebel” Reichert never actually goes looking for trouble. It just has a tendency to find her. Like the day Frank Knight showed up at her door, wanting to use her motorcycle shop as a cover for his elite special ops team. But Becky prides herself on being able to hang with the big boys – she can weld, drive, and shoot just as well as any of them.

Man With A Mission
Munitions, missiles, and mayhem are Frank’s way of life. The last thing the ex-SEAL wants if for one brash blonde to come within fifty feet of anything that goes boom. Yet it’s just his rotten luck when she ends up in a hostage situation at sea. Come hell or high water, he will get her back – whether she says she needs him or not.

HELL ON WHEELS, August 2012

Hold On Tight…
Ex–Marine Nate “Ghost” Weller is an expert at keeping his cool—and his distance—which makes him one hell of a sniper. It’s also how he keeps his feelings for Ali Morgan in check. Sweet, sexy Ali has always revved his engine, but she’s his best friend’s baby sister…and totally off limits.

Rough Road Ahead
Ali’s never seen anything sexier than Nate Weller straddling his custom Harley—or the flash of danger in his eyes when she tells him she’s in trouble. First something happened to her brother, and now she’s become the target of a nasty international organization. With Nate, her life is in the most capable hands possible—but her heart is another story altogether.

~ABOUT THE AUTHOR~

Julie Ann WalkerJulie Ann Walker is the New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author of the Black Knights Inc. romantic suspense series. She is prone to spouting movie quotes and song lyrics. She’ll never say no to sharing a glass of wine or going for a long walk. She prefers impromptu travel over the scheduled kind, and she takes her coffee with milk. You can find her on her bicycle along the lake shore in Chicago or blasting away at her keyboard, trying to wrangle her capricious imagination into submission. Look for the first three books in her fast-paced series: Hell On Wheels (August 2012) In Rides Trouble (September 2012) and Rev It Up (October 2012). For more information, please visit www.julieannwalker.com or follow her on Facebook www.facebook.com/jawalkerauthor and/or Twitter @JAWalkerAuthor.

~Giveaway Info~

This giveaway is for SIGNED copies of the Black Knights Inc Series (Hell On Wheels,  In Rides Trouble, and Rev It Up)

To Enter:

Leave a comment with your broken up email addy and answer: What is your flavor of Alpha?  (Biker?  Highlander? Viking? Pirate….I could go on forever!!!)

For extra entries you can like Booked and Loaded and Julie Ann Walker   on Facebook!

**Open to US and CAN residence.  Ends December 23, 2012 at 11:59 pm CST.  Must be 18 to enter.  Winner will be emailed and has 4 days to respond (I have added some time for the holiday craze)

Comments
  1. Penni says:

    I love Soldiers! Noting sexier than a man who fights for what he believes in and has the courage and strength to do what only soldiers can do :-)

  2. Angela Love says:

    I follow both on facebook and email and twitter…..I would Love a signed copy!!!!
    Merry Christmas to you and yours and thank you for this blog!!!

    angelalove40@gmail.com

  3. Melissa Walton says:

    Shifter!
    Kaiaschild (at) yahoo (dot) com

  4. Kassandra says:

    PNR Alpha=shifters for me
    Otherwise I am a sucker for military men ;)

    Kassandra
    sionedkla AT gmail DOT com

  5. laurie g says:

    I love Soldiers! Noting sexier than a man who fights for what he believes in and has the courage and strength to do what only soldiers can do :-)

    parisfan_ca@yahoo.com

  6. Joy F says:

    Highlander all the way!!!! Love them!!
    magic5905 at embarqmail dot com

  7. I would say shifters are my favorite alphas!

  8. I like Highlanders and were-animals.

    AquarianDancer at gmail dot com

  9. I love military men and werewolves.

    amar dot mar76 at yahoo dot com

  10. Thank you, Booked and Loaded for having me on today! What a thrill!

  11. Daniel M says:

    highlanders and vikings! – regnod(at)yahoo(d0t)com

  12. Tina Wheatley says:

    I have many flavors for my Alpha! I love Vikings and Highlanders but I can’t forget my uber Alpha Shifters (Wolves, Lions, and Tigers) along with Seal and Marines. I can go on and on….

    Liked both Booked and Loaded and Julie Ann Walker Facebook page (Tina Brown Wheatley)

    kamwh1207(at)att(dot)net

  13. dgmolly says:

    I LOVE bikers! Actually, I love all alpha males, but nothing is hotter than a man on a bike.
    molly dot frenzel at gmail dot com

  14. My favorite alpha is a biker shifter!!

    books4me67 at ymail dot com

  15. Lisa w says:

    Bikers and Military men!
    modularmates(at)comcast(dot)net
    I follow both on FB

  16. remykat6 says:

    I’m all about sports figures that are all Alpha male, be them football players or Hockey players or the few baseball that I have read. They make me melt like butter!

    csjames (at) siu (dot) edu

  17. Malinov says:

    Assassins & Shifters

    malinov24 (at) gmail (dot) com

  18. Crystal W Smith says:

    Oooooohhhh I love an alpha biker…yummy!
    I read the first one but haven’t been able to get my hands on the others 😕 would love these!!
    crystal83(at)cox(dot)com

  19. Emily Van Der Vaart says:

    I think my favorite alphas are soldiers/ex-soldiers and government officials/private contractors for the government. Although I do love me a vampire alpha!

    Emily(dot)vandervaart(at)gmail(dot)com

  20. Sue Peace says:

    I love Alpha Males!!! And your books of course!!!

  21. Phuong Richardson says:

    I love alphas males – soldiers and ex-solders and govt and spies.
    Email is prichardson3@kc.rr.com

  22. wendy says:

    Wow that’s a hard question there are so many good types of alphas out there . But i will have to go with military alphas .
    Something bout that strong hero type totally does it for me

  23. Arianna Worthington says:

    Holy Hell Fires! Give me a cop or a soldier and I am on fire! They need to have atleast one sexy tat, have a bad-ass bike to ride me off into wonderland so I can wrap my arms around his taught stomach, snuggling up to his manly scent. He has loving and respectful enthusiasm for the lovely female body. He’s thoughtful, intelligent, loves music and loves to slow dance with his woman. He is my alpha male. Whew! I have to stop there!
    honeybee(at)gmail(dot)com

  24. Lori P. says:

    I love all Alpha males, but my favorite are Military and bikers :)

  25. Tracy says:

    Soldier’s. Follow both on facebook.

    graczykowski(at)sbcglobal(dot)net

  26. I am all about the Alpha males, I love Shifters, Motorcycles & Military Men. Put them all together and hawtness happens! Thank you for the chance to win :) clperry2009@gmail.com

  27. Heathercm2001 says:

    My favorite alpha….hmmm….do I really have to choose??? I like the shifter in a suit. For example, Adam from Patricia Briggs’ Mercy Thompson Series. However, I really like bikers and highlanders too! Oh, and the ancient gods, and military guys, and other men in uniform….etc. :)

    heathercm2001(at)aol(dot)com

  28. Give me a bad ass Marine with a Harley any day…. I seem to remember a trip, that shall not be named, where I attempted to follow a biker home… Just saying….

  29. Pennie M says:

    Alphas who are military (no such thing as retired just inactive at the moment) who still know how to take care of business whether it be on a bike, in a plane, in a car, or in a boat. Whew!

  30. Yadira A. says:

    It’s a toss up between a shifter and soldier for me… how about a combination of the 2:) Thanks for the giveaway!!!

    yadkny@hotmail.com

  31. JanD says:

    Highlander and shifter for me.

  32. bn100 says:

    pirate
    bn100candg(at)hotmail(dot)com

  33. bookswagger says:

    Love the solider plus biker combo if we are talking real life I love confident w a tat but in my reads I am still a sucker for a Highlander laird with an attitude booksswagger (at) gmail (dot) com

  34. I always go for the Highlanders. Can’t help it. :) I’m starting to get into military/mercenary type heroes lately though. Happy Holidays!

    imsocool(at)gmail(dot)com

Leave a Reply

