Authors After Dark Spotlight & Interview with Liliana Hart

Posted: December 7, 2012 by Booked & Loaded in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

For this Authors After Dark Featured Author Spotlight I would like to welcome Liliana Hart!

Photobucket

~Interview with Liliana Hart~

Hello Liliana and welcome to Booked & Loaded!

Thanks so much for having me!

Annie:  What is your favorite thing about being a writer?

Liliana: Ooh, it’s hard to find just one thing. I get to work in my pajamas all day, which is pretty awesome. I try to live up to the reclusive writer lifestyle as much as possible, so I work in ratty flannel pjs (I have multiple pairs, don’t worry) and an old chenille robe. If you ever see me out in public, it’s the equivalent of me being released into the wild. It’s a lot of work to put on actual clothes and makeup and stuff every day.

Annie:  Shadows and Silk (A Mackenzie Novel) is coming out this Christmas.  Can you tell us a little about what to expect??

Liliana: I can tell you I LOVED writing this book. If you’ve read CADE, then you know Darcy and Brant’s relationship was not good at the end of that book. I mean, Brant did something REALLY stupid, and Darcy isn’t the kind of woman to let that slide without making his life a living hell first. And boy does she make him suffer

Shadows and Silk is a super sexy read, and you’ll get to spend more time with Declan and Shane MacKenzie this time around. The stakes are also higher because what you find out about Brant’s past will shed some light on why he’s so resistant to Darcy.

Annie:  What characters do you find the easiest to write – the bad?  The good?  The murderous psychos?

Liliana: I love writing an Alpha Hero. I love digging beneath the layers of what makes them the kind of men they are and how they channel all of that testosterone. And then I like to pair them with a woman with a smart mouth and the ability to punch every hot button the hero has so I can sit back and watch the sparks fly.

Annie:   Can you talk about any other upcoming
releases that are in the works?

Liliana: Sure! I’ve got three MacKenzie books that have very close release dates, so you won’t have to wait so long to get a MacKenzie fix. Shadows and Silk (Brant and Darcy’s book) comes out December 25th. Secrets and Satin (Max and Jade’s book) will be out in February. And Sins and Scarlet Lace (Declan and Sophia’s Book) will be out in April. If you’re wondering who Max and Jade are, you’ll get to see a lot of them in Shadows and Silk. Max used to be Cade’s boss at the DEA. Jade is my first African American heroine, and she is a total badass. She’s a sniper, and she will seriously rock your world with her awesomeness.

Annie:   What is your favorite genre to write?

Liliana: I love writing suspense books. They’re the easiest for me to write because a successful suspense hinges on action. And action can be many things—great dialogue, violence, sex, emotional scenes. My suspense books play out like a movie in my head, so I’m always really entertained while writing them.

Annie:  Holidays – Do you love them or despise them and why?

Liliana: I’m actually not a huge fan of holidays. But that’s mostly because I have crazy deadlines and don’t need to be taking the time off. With that said, I do take those days to spend time with my husband and children while they’re off from school, and I enjoy the time immensely. It takes me a little time to remember it’s okay to relax and wind down every once in a while, and not to always be focused on the next story I have to tell. By the time I get back to work, my mind is fresh and I’m energized.

Annie:  You’re a featured author for Authors After Dark Savannah Nights.  What are you most looking forward to
experiencing while in Savannah?

Liliana: I can’t wait for AAD Savannah! It’s going to be a great time to connect with my readers and get our party on. I think I’m most looking forward to the sightseeing though. I’ve never been before, but I hear it’s beautiful. My Addison Holmes series is set in Savannah, and I plan to come back home with a ton of new ideas.

Annie: So I love music almost as much as books – I even have a special about 2 times a month called Music Mania Monday.  Do you think your characters or books have theme songs?  What are they??  (I am expecting Epic answers – I know you are musically inclined Ms. Percussionist!)

Liliana:  I have a new romantic thriller coming out in 2013 called KILL SHOT, and Lenny Kravitz’s Lady is the theme song I used for my heroine. It popped into my head every time she came on the scene. This is my favorite book I’ve ever written. She’s a CIA sanctioned assassin turned mercenary because her daughter was killed by a man she was hunting. It’s very emotional and dark, but she takes no prisoners.

Annie: If you could compare yourself to any fictional character who would that be?

Liliana: LOL! I like to think that I’m very Mrs. Smith. You know, superspy jack-of-all-trades and good with firearms. Like I totally carry a knife in my boot and a Beretta at the small of my back when I do my grocery shopping. JUST IN CASE I HAVE TO SAVE SOMEONE IN THE PARKING LOT. Or I’m the person who keeps her calm as I stumble over a dead body (as one does) and helps the cops solve the crime. So in my mind I’m a cross between Angelina Jolie and Jessica Fletcher.

But in reality, I’m probably more like Stephanie Plum.

Annie: What childhood book influenced you most as an adult?

Liliana: I don’t know about a childhood book because I was reading adult literature in third grade. I was eight years old when I read my first Mary Higgins Clark book, and I absolutely fell in love with the mystery/suspense genre. Those books made me want to be a writer.

Annie: What book are you currently reading?

Liliana: I’m actually re-reading When He Was Wicked by Julia Quinn at the moment. I love that book. And next I’ll be re-reading Almost Heaven by Judith McNaught. When I’m on deadline, I always read the opposite genre of whatever I’m working on. And I re-read because I have to get my reading fix in, but I don’t have the brainpower left at the end of the day to concentrate on a new book. I have to wait to read never read books until I’m between my own books. I know, it’s weird.

Annie: If you were fighting zombies what would
your weapon of choice be?

Liliana: CROSSBOW! But I’d probably end up shooting myself in the foot. I hate to say it, but I’d be easy zombie fodder.

~More about the Author~

100_1168Liliana Hart is a bestselling and award-winning author in both the mystery and romance genres. After starting her first novel her freshman year of college, she immediately became addicted to writing and knew she’d found what she was meant to do with her life. She has no idea why she majored in music.
 
Liliana is an avid reader and a believer in all things romance. Her books are filled with witty dialogue, steamy sex, and the all-important happily-ever-afters her romantic soul craves. Since self-publishing in June of 2011, she’s sold more than half a million ebooks all over the world. She lives in Texas with her husband and four children, and they occasionally let her meet her deadlines.

Website ∫ Twitter ∫ Facebook  ∫ Pinterest 

~Shadows and Silk (A MacKenzie Novel)~

Release Date: December 25, 2012

 ShadowandSilkAgent Brant Scott knows when a battle is lost. He’s been an integral part of hunting down members of the del Fuego cartel for years, but it’s not the violent criminals that have the ability to bring him to his knees. That honor belongs to one woman. And after spending a night in Darcy MacKenzie’s bed, he knows he has to disappear from her life or risk her finding out the one secret that can make her despise him forever.

Darcy MacKenzie is hell on wheels. At least that’s what her brothers tell her. And when she has the chance to work with the elite team assigned to destroy the most dangerous drug cartel in the world, she jumps at the chance to lend her expertise by deciphering the Mayan hieroglyphs the cartel is using to send messages.

The only problem is the team leader is none other that Brant Scott—the only man she’s ever loved and the one who left her without a backward glance. With secrets of her own—and a body built for sin—Darcy is more than an equal match for the stubborn Brant. But loving each other could be more of a risk than either is willing to take.

***

Don’t forget that you meet Liliana at Authors After Dark August 15-18, 2013 in Savannah Georgia!  To learn more about this event click on the graphic at the top of this post!

Comments
  1. Liliana Hart says:

    Thanks so much for having me!

  2. I can hardly wait to read your series, Liliana. I love romantic suspense!

  3. OMG you and are so much alike that it’s scary.People ask me my favorite children’s book when I was a kid so I have to go with Little House on the Prairie or Wrinkle in Time, which I read in third grade. By middle school I was reading Jaws (yes,it was a book!) Stephen King, and Dean Koontz. Now that I think about it, no wonder I’m so warped.

  4. Jane Graves says:

    Hey, Liliana! I’m with you on the alpha guys. They’re the most fun to write, particularly if you pair them with smart, sarcastic women.

    And if you’re zombie fodder, stick with me during the apocalypse. To put a new twist on an old saying, “I don’t have to run faster than the zombie. I just have to run faster than you.”

    The new book sounds fantastic. Can’t wait to read another MacKenzie story!

  5. Now I’m just DYING to get my hands on SILK & SHADOWS! Sounds like just my kind of book.

    I love romances/relationships that span several books. I think it gives us a chance to get to know the characters in a way we can’t in a single book.

    Hope you have a great holiday!!

  6. Great interview!! Cant wait to read Shadows and Silk!!

  7. theresaragan says:

    Hi Liliana, Shadows and Silk sounds great! What a fun interview. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

