Fangs, Fur & Mistletoe Blog Tour with Giveaway and Guest Post

Posted: December 4, 2012 by Booked & Loaded in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Welcome to the Fangs, Fur & Mistletoe Tour!  Who couldn’t use another sexy holiday read?  Selena Blake is visiting Booked & Loaded today talking about how she develops a series.  Selena is also offering up a beautiful Eternity necklace to one lucky winner tour wide! (details below)

Developing a Series – The New Way by Selena Blake
Once upon a time…
 
I wrote a series. One book at a time, each book loosely building on the previous one(s). And it worked out pretty well, but not perfectly.
 
I think that’s pretty much how most authors write a trilogy or series. They come up with the cast of characters and start writing.
 
To be fair, that series, Stormy Weather, has done pretty darn well. But there were threads that I lost over the years I was writing it. Things that, looking back, I could have continued through the following stories. Or even expanded upon. But when there are actual years in between writing the stories, it’s easy to lose those details. And I imagine, the bigger the series, the more organized the author needs to be.
 
Heck, I’m the writer that defaults to the hero always having blue eyes. This usually happens about halfway through the book. Suddenly I remember “oh, he has warm brown eyes” and then I must fix it.
 
When a publisher comes up with the idea for a series, they create what’s called a series Bible. It includes the cast of characters, key settings, and enough detail that all authors participating have a good foundation for their story(s).
 
My latest series is called Mystic Isle. I’ve done something completely different this time around and I’ve talked to a few authors about the project and they’re all a little…well, some are in awe and some think I’m crazy.
 
You see, I started using a program called Scrivener which allows me to be more organized. I can keep things like character charts, story ideas, outlines, blurbs, and even the actual document itself open all at the same time.
 
See?
  
I just love the way this is set up. It makes it super easy for me to see all the information I need at a glance. Being able to click down to one of the characters means I stay true to character (and their eye color.)
 
And the best part is, it helps me stay true to the series.
 
Since each story is already set up, so to speak, I can easily add to them as I get an idea. That’s the sort of ‘holy cow’ part of all this. I’ve found myself writing them all at the same time and that’s really helped me stay true to the characters and build on what I’ve created. This project feels more cohesive.
 
And because they’re all being written well in advance of publication, it gives me time to make sure the wrinkles are ironed out. I’m not saying you won’t find a wrinkle, I’m just saying that I’m doing a lot more ironing with this series than I was able to do with my last one.
 
Now I just hope that readers enjoy it.
 
There you have it. An inside look at my newest writing process.
 
~ABOUT SELENA BLAKE~

An action movie buff with a penchant for all things supernatural and sexy, Selena Blake combines her love for adventure, travel and romance into steamy paranormal romance. Selena’s books have been called “a steamy escape” and have appeared on bestseller lists, been nominated for awards, and won contests. When she’s not writing you can find her by the pool soaking up some sun, day dreaming about new characters, and watching the cabana boy (aka her muse), Derek. Fan mail keeps her going when the diet soda wears off so write to her at Selena@selena-blake.com Visit her online at http://www.selena-blake.com or if you’re on Facebook, become a fan athttp://www.facebook.com/authorSelenaBlake

~About Fangs, Fur & Mistletoe~

Blurb:
Vampiress Coco Jeffress has one week to get her mojo back. After a long sexual drought, Mystic Isle, the exclusive pleasure playground for paranormals, is just what the doctor ordered. For once she’s choosing lust over love.
Tall, dark, and oh-so-handsome werewolf Grayson West is well versed in the arts of war and women. He’s got one week to blow off some steam before he heads back into the field and he’s more than willing to help a lady find her inner vixen.
Especially when she’s the same beautiful blue eyed vamp he met one hundred years ago and has never been able to forget. They were once sworn enemies, pulled apart by war. Now they’re lovers. But history has a way of rearing its ugly head and their new relationship will have to stand up to the test of loyalty, friendship and even time itself.

~Giveaway Info~

Selena is graciously giving away 1 Infinity Necklace to a lucky visitor on Booked & Loaded.

This giveaway is open to US residence only.

Required Entry:  

Leave a comment below with your broken up email address – What is your favorite Holiday Story?

Extra Entries:

Like Booked & Loaded on FB HERE

Like Selena Blake on FB HERE

This giveaway will end on December 9th, 2012 at 11:59 pm CST.  I will choose the winner via random.org.  Winner will be contacted via email address provided in comment and has 72 hours to claim prize.  

Comments
  1. One of my all time favorite stories is The Little Drummer Boy, always has been. I remember watching as a child with my parents. The Littlest Angel runs a very close second. Thank you for the giveaway and for being a part of the hop.

    cmucha319 (at) yahoo (dot) com

  2. kellee says:

    my favorite holiday story is the nutcracker :]
    I also liked booked and loaded on facebook
    and i also liked selena blake on facebook
    my email is kellee926 at hotmail dot com

  3. bmack31919 says:

    My favorite Christmas story is “A Christmas Carol”

    bmack31919 at yahoo for com

    I liked booked & loaded on FB
    I liked Selena Blake on FB

  4. Crystal Young says:

    A Christmas Carol is my fave I read it every year
    Facebook Crystal Young I lik both
    crystaley73 at yahoo dot com

  5. Zita R says:

    I found a cute short christmas story that I really liked alot, Silver Bells by Sadie Hart

  6. Zita R says:

    forgot to add in email address to comment above
    zita at aol dot com

  7. pamlabud says:

    What a great way to use Scrivener! Love the story, the title and the cover! FFM has it all! As for my favorite Christmas story, I love A Christmas Carol. The book, the movies, and especially the Muppet Christmas Carol (and I love Muppet Treasure Island!) Let’s see, my fav’s include A Charlie Brown Christmas and National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation. LOL!

  8. kazza16 says:

    For me it has always been A Miracle on 34th Street and I watch the movie every year too!!
    But now that I’m a big girl,,,,,,I am loving books like Fangs, Fur & Mistletoe! Nothing like reading a Christmas story that contains an smoldering Alpha Werewolf and a sexy Vampire! Thank’s for sharing your journey in writing these wonderful books Selena!

  9. Heather F. says:

    Thanks for sharing your tips on using Scrivener for organization! I’ve had the trial on my hard drive forever, but I always found it so complicated and unwieldly, so I never purchased it. But seen the way you use it for a series has really inspired me to consider buying it for my own series. Thanks for sharing!

    As for my favorite holiday stories, I’m a big classic movie girl during the holidays: Christmas Vacation, A Christmas Story; Love, Actually; Elf; and It’s a Wonderful Life along with the animated classics are the ones I marathon every year!

    I already like Booked & Loaded, of course, and now I’ve added Selena!

    • You’re welcome Heather. Scrivener is definitely more complicated than Word, but I really love it. Once I get a story done (or really close to done) I compile it, send it to word, and then read it through. So it’s not the only thing I use. But it’s perfect for starting me off.

  10. Katie Amanda says:

    I like “A Christmas Carol.” I especially like the Donald Duck cartoon version of the story! Thanks for participating. katieamanda1(at)yahoo(dot)com

  11. Katie Amanda says:

    Liked Booked and Loaded as Kt Amanda.

  12. Aww… Rudolph is on CBS right now. Love that movie too.

  13. Juliana says:

    A Christmas Carol!
    OceanAkers @ aol.com

  14. wanda says:

    National Lampoons Christmas Vacation .

    flanagan(at)mebtel.net

  15. kimberly holgate says:

    my favorit is still a christmas carrol

  16. Tammy Campbell says:

    It’s a little unconventional, but I like Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer. The opening scenes could easily replay at one of our family Christmas gatherings. Tammyanncm (at) gmail (dot) com

  17. Judy says:

    I like novellas in anthologies that continue highlight the holiday season for characters in other series. Lora Leigh, Nalini Singh, Erin McCarthy, and Lori Foster do an excellent job of this.

    Thanks for the great giveaway!

    Both fb likes completed – Judith Cauthan

    Bookworm (dot) judy (at) gmail (dot) com

  18. Alicia says:

    I love How the Grinch Stole Christmas, it is just so cute and I think it really reflects the feeling of the season. It is especially nice to have if you are not feeling up to the holiday spirit, it can snap you right out of that grinchy mood :).

    Thanks for the info and the great giveaway!

    –Alicia
    dmr8888 at yahoo dot com

  19. bn100 says:

    I like A Christmas Carol.

    bn100candg(at)hotmail(dot)com

  20. All I want for Christmas (1991). And I already liked Selena and you. Haha, is why I am here. ; ) xstitchdiva at att dot net

  21. JanD says:

    I like A Christmas Carol and its variations specially the movie Scrooged.
    bituin76 at hotmail dot com

  22. my favorite christmas story is “it’s a wonderful life!”

    jukyjoauka(at)aol(dot) com

    i liked both the extra entries!

    thank you!

  23. Ann Fisher says:

    Love Selena Blake

  24. Annie says:

    I like A Christmas Carol. And as for holiday movies, my favorites are Its a Wonderful Life and Miracle on 34th Street-the original with Maureen O’Hara. And I love the Stormy Weather series!

  25. Karen says:

    I love ‘A Christmas Story’.
    kgagnon (at) donofrio (dot) cc

  26. miriam roman says:

    i still loe the grinch who stole christmas!
    miriam.whitewolf @ gmail.com

Leave a Reply

